BlackFeatherCre

The Pre-Ramble
Sooooooooo... My first ever attempt to replicate a costume piece as closely as my recourses allow.... off.. This is gonna be a doozey....
A bit about myself. I am a propmaker trying to break into the professional film industry. I have a bachelor in Special Effects Modelmaking from the University of Bolton, and I thusly have a bit of experience in terms of 3D modelling, scratch building, moulding, casting and 3D printing. I would however not consider myself an expert in any of my chosen techniques. Any assumptions or conclusions about the actual construction of the helmet should be taken with a grain of salt. That being said I am very excited to start this project, so LETS DO THIS!!!
1689905275207.png

References and Deconstrction
All the references are based on either BTS footage, screenshots or rumours that I have heard. I imported everything that I could find into a Puref file (Sardaukar Helmet Ref.pur) and sorted it according to perspective.
1689906923835.png

By looking at the footage, I concluded that the helmet was split into two main pieces. You have the main "helmet" that is held on by a elastic strap around the back, and the "windcap" that covers most of the head except for the face. The division line would run along the back of the clear vison along the "jawline" of the helmet.
1689905205919.png
The "Helmet"

1689905361491.png
The "Windcap"

The Helmet itself consists of 6 main parts as far as I could see. You have the Clear visor (1), two sides (2), the respirator (3), the rubber moulding (4) and the back frame (5).
helmet partition 1.jpg
helmet partition 2.jpg

From what I could see the cap consists of 3 layers. A black open-face balaclava with some details on the temples, the darc metallic basecap and the two light metallic pads on the back of the cap.
1689905361491.png
1689906748439.png

The Plan