Clay wont stick, any advice?

yaris

Sr Member
I've never used clay before, so don't really know what I'm doing.

Built an Easter Island head from a pep file, fiberglass resin the outside to firm it up, then clay over the top to get the stone look. I'm very happy with how it was going, but I can pick off the clay from the model, it's not sticking very well

Is there anything I can prep the pep/resin card stock with to make the clay stick better?

Should I use something other than clay?

I'm using air dry clay.

Thanks for your help

Attachments

• IMG_0354.JPG
    IMG_0354.JPG
    2.4 MB · Views: 193
How large is this piece? (I can't tell from the image...) Thickness of your application may be causing the problem (too thin or too thick...)

R/ Robert

How large is this piece? (I can't tell from the image...) Thickness of your application may be causing the problem (too thin or too thick...)

R/ Robert

Hey mate, thanks for the response, photos included below. I don't think it's a thickness issue, but I'm new to clay, so I don't really know:confused.......thick or thin it can be picked off. The statue is about 2 ft or 60cm

Attachments

• IMG_0356.JPG
    IMG_0356.JPG
    1.9 MB · Views: 179
  • IMG_0355.JPG
    IMG_0355.JPG
    1.9 MB · Views: 166
  • IMG_0347.JPG
    IMG_0347.JPG
    1.7 MB · Views: 167
Yaris, is that wax I see dripped on the armature? If so, then I'd expect the clay will not stick properly. Air drying clay may also be able to absorb oils from the wax such that it will contaminate it, preventing it from working further as desired. Please describe how & of what you made the armature (it looks like paper with wax applied just from the pix... but that is just guessing!) to help further "troubleshooting".