Catwoman TDKR

anaaestheti

Last DragonCon I was determined to make a version of Selina Kyle. I kept putting it off for years, but after TDKR, I just knew I had to throw my hands at that one. At the time I didn't have a lot of resources, but I lucked out by finding a leather mask maker online who had a great replica of her mask. Version 1 was sans goggles, Version 2 has a modified pair of the Rubies ones I repainting. Debating on how much more wear I'll get out of this costume, I may upgrade and find someone who has a more accurate replica of the goggles.

The Bodysuit
I have never done a raglan sleeve suit before, so I used my general two seam bodysuit pattern, created a mockup and had a friend draw out the sleeve design on me, and I recreated the pattern from that. I used matte PVC for the main suit fabric, adding the under breast-cupping and princess seam detailing with a coated elastic I found at a local overstock fabric shop.

To create the raised effect, I just wore a large-hole fishnet bodysuit underneath the bodysuit itself. Sometimes it is more apparent in photos than others, it all depends on how tight my outer suit is on me.

The Gloves
Version 1 I used some old black gloves I had made for Psylocke (out of metallic spandex). Version 2 are actual leather gloves made by The House of Canney. They are not accurate to the film, and something I would like to redo if I make a 3rd version.

The Boots
I'm proud of these babies. Not screen accurate in the least, but this costume gave me an excuse to finally invest in a pair of New Rocks. These suckers... cost a lot of money, but I get a lot of wear out of them, not just in the costume! I actually love the more industrial style versus the film thigh high / metallic version that was used.

The Belt
A much needed work in progress. This is where I should have been a member of the RPF much sooner, so find someone to help me get the molded belt pouches! I'd love to invest in them. :3

The Mask