Page 3 of 5 FirstFirst 12345 LastLast
Subscribe
    From
    Currently I reside in Alabama.
    Mar 22, 2011, 3:42 AM - Re: WHO ARE YOU Identityprops????!?!?! #51

Wow. It was taken on Deviantart? So that means at least TWO people know obscure sci fi names....(well...three given i know too)
  2. Member Since
    Apr 2010
    Mar 22, 2011, 2:53 PM - Re: WHO ARE YOU Identityprops????!?!?! #52

Hey Folks...
    I know that I'm late to this discussion and I don't know if this will help. I'm NOT a lawyer and have a bit of info that may help.

I saw the bit about the DMCA and I believe that they are looking for what is known as a "take down notice". That notice requires a bit more than you've provided. You can read more about that here...
    How to Send a DMCA Takedown Notice | Black Star Rising

I suspect that may be what they're getting at with all that legal-eze.

It may get a bit muddy becuase you've created a piece of fan based art predicated upon something that had been trademarked and/or copyrighted already. eg. TV show. However, YOU created the artwork so I believe that YOU own that. Like I said...I'm not a lawyer but that may be something that gives you a hiccup or 2.

I'd like to see the site shut down, but the best the ISP can do is PULL the infringed material. I wish you luck. I've had a book duplicated in China and there's squat that I can do about it. So I feel your pain. Since this is Canada, I'm optimistic that the materials will get pulled down.

Please keep us all posted!
    From
    In a blue box, travelling around the cosmos
    Mar 22, 2011, 7:54 PM - Re: WHO ARE YOU Identityprops????!?!?! #53

CCP said: View Post
    Wow. It was taken on Deviantart? So that means at least TWO people know obscure sci fi names....(well...three given i know too)
    Yep; in fact, I can (somewhat) prove that, by virtue of the Delta House ID, with Otter's picture on it (that was in a link, not the actual site page, to give people the idea of how to fill it out).