damngoodphil’s Comic Book Spider-Man build - Orhadar Print + ASM2 Faceshell/Eyes

damngoodphil

It took some time, but I finally completed my first Spider-Man costume and thought I’d share the building process here.

Before getting started, I want to give a special thanks to RPF’ers lunaman and TJack for all their helpful advice and information during the building process. Please see their own threads for their excellent work.

Some quick info upfront: Like lunaman’s Ultimate Spider-Man suit, my suit wound up costing a bit over $600 (closer to $650 probably) and much of the material and info I was able to gather here on the Replica Prop Forum. I am not a costume designer and had no prior experience making any kind of costume, but I tried my best and left the work that I could not accomplish in the hands of professionals.

To start, I began my suit with an Orhadar comic-book style pattern (http://www.gunheaddesign.com/) that I had printed on 4-way stretch lycra from Fabric On Demand (http://www.fabricondemand.com/). The material arrived quickly and without any problems.

IMG_6435.JPG

I then went about coloring the webs with Pigma Micron marker pens (point size “08”). It took six full pens (plus part of a seventh) and the better part of a month to complete - partially due to my own scheduling/skipping days due to other commitments, as well as choosing only to work on a small part of the suit per day. The fact that lunaman was able to color his entire suit over the span of 10 hours is impressive to say the least!

IMG_6438.JPG

I used a piece of cardboard to lean on as I colored in the webbing. This was what it looked like after finishing.

IMG_6441.jpg

The coloring really is worth it to make the web lines more prominent and stand out. The only part I did not color was the chest spider, which I left untouched, but may still color at some point. As you can see below, the archival ink goes right through to the other side of the lycra.

IMG_6440.JPG