TJack's 2012 Halloween Costume Contest Entry (Monsters Inc.)

TJackFx

Master Member
RPF PREMIUM MEMBER
So this costume has sort of been in the back of my mind for a few years, but this January something happened that made me decide to finally make it a reality.

We took our boys (5 and 2) to Disneyland this year and seeing just how excited they were to experience the park and interact with the characters, I knew that I wanted to try and re-create it at home not only for them, but for the kids in our neighbourhood.

Like a lot of us here, I am a complete amateur when it comes to costume/prop making, and although I'm not an engineer by trade, I'm definitely one at heart. The biggest obstacle on this build turned out to be finding the right fur at the right price to keep me on budget (details on the budget are in the link to my other build thread).

Along the way, my wife and I decided that it would be fun to get her involved as well, so not only did I end up making Sulley, I also made Boo's monster costume as well.

Enough chat, on with the build.

I honestly thought I took more step by step pictures along the way, so I'll do my best to describe some of the details that don't have pics.

My original build thread:
http://www.therpf.com/f24/james-p-sullivan-monsters-inc-new-video-139360/

Last edited:
Re: TJack's 2012 Halloween Costume Contest Entry

So I started off by making a duct tape dummy. This way I could easily tailor the build to my size without having to drag my wife out to the garage for countless fittings - kind of like last year :)

I picked up a backpack frame from a garage sale so that I would have something to attach the body structure and carry the weight of the suit.