Aragorn Ranger costume WIP

Feezle-Nuts

Sr Member
RPF PREMIUM MEMBER
I started working on this costume a couple of days ago. I've been wanting to do it for a while, but I may have an opportunity to wear it to a LOTR event in April, and since I don't see those coming around too often, I definitely want to get it ready in time. I'm working on a very low budget, so I will be cutting some corners but I do want it to look fairly authentic.

This is the configuration I want to do:

King-Aragorn-aragorn-7628873-300-39.jpg

My first undertaking is the bracers. I had some left over leather lying around from my Will Turner baldric, so I decided to make them myself. This is my first attempt at trying anything even close to this complicated with leather and it is my first attempt tooling.

IMG_4795.jpg

IMG_4796.jpg

IMG_4797.jpg

IMG_4798.jpg

IMG_4799.jpg

There are some blemishes on the leather but I will just consider it weathering. My cutting/tooling is far from perfect, but oh well, I'm learning and I'm pretty pleased so far. I'm probably just going to buy the inner bracers (not sure what they are called) since they aren't that expensive and it would probably be more trouble than it is worth to try to make.

I went to JoAnn's today and was checking out some fabric for the jerkin. I was looking at the micro-suede. It would work I suppose, but it is just so thin. I would have to line it or double it up, and at that point, it would kind of defeat the purpose. I might have to venture up to Tandy someday soon and see if they have any scrap suede that would meet my needs. Would be easier if I didn't need so much.

As far as boots go, for the time being, I will make due with my Will Turner boots. If I adjust them so the cuff at the top is only about half the length, and lace it down, they don't look too bad.