Animatronics tutorial- DONE!

Wow, nothing like a little light reading. ;)

Seriously though, thanks for posting this. I've got some experience with PIC micros, and have thought about trying something else ... may have to give one of these a try.

ATM
ShackMan

Fantastic! Thank you very much! I'm just getting into costuming, but have used some Atmel chips in a previous life at work and even wrote my own bootloader...it's funny how things come full circle, it will be fun to dust off the cobwebs on the programming side of things.

I'm thinking of using a lot of accelerometers and/or bend sensors to simply trigger sound effects for joint motions. Probably way overkill, but I thought it would be cool. Any thoughts on how to do that cost effectively? I can't imagine using a processor and wave shield for each joint...maybe gutting some cheap recordable audio Hallmark cards will work. :)

wow...great writeup. Thanks for putting this up. guys like you really help the community grow by sharing your methods.

Honus, have I mentioned that I love to hate you? :lol

This is fantastic, thank you SO much for putting it together. I've wanted to learn to use some sort of microprocessor and figure this exact sort of thing out for a long time, and here you've got it all wrapped up in one awesome tutorial. Can't say "thanks" enough!

I'm thinking of using a lot of accelerometers and/or bend sensors to simply trigger sound effects for joint motions. Probably way overkill, but I thought it would be cool. Any thoughts on how to do that cost effectively? I can't imagine using a processor and wave shield for each joint...maybe gutting some cheap recordable audio Hallmark cards will work. :)

Thanks for the kind words everyone! Hopefully some of you will be able to make use of the info and make some really cool stuff.