A movie-camera prop

johnpipe

This did not begin with the intention of being a prop; the beginnings go back to the 1960's when I was a student member of the SMPTE. I had purchased a model E Cine Kodak 16mm camera, the one pictured here, and wanted to have an external film magazine for it. I dreamt of the idea for a goodly while, but hadn't any of the tools and machines needed.

DSCF2881.JPG

A few years back, I decided to make a magazine as a full-scale model, with the intention that it should be actually workable, and if I could get a motion-picture course at the local JC then it would be feasible to put some film through it. This hinged on getting a machine-shop course, but they seem to have been dropped from the curriculum, so finishing off the details waited for a while.

DSCF2882.JPG

The magazine body is 1/4" MDF, front and rear, hard wood floor and top/center spacers, and some spacers around the curved portions. The curves are "plated" over with paper mache! Cereal-box cardboard forms the base layer, brown paper bag strips the build-up, and diluted white glue the paste. This dries hard and can be sanded and shaped.

DSCF2880.JPG

Since I could not get machine-shop tuition, I decided to do the best I could with minimal tools to complete the magazine box; McMaster-Carr came in handy for various components, including 5/16" brass key stock, delrin pulleys, 1-1/4" delrin round-bar stock for the spool core, 6061 6" x 12" aluminum sheet for the spool flanges, 3/8"L x 1/4"bore bronze graphite dry-lube bushings.

DSCF2879.JPG

R190 HS daylight-loading spool, with 200' of out-dated Kodak Vision2 500T Estar, in long-pitch HS loading, next to shop-made standard-speed spool