WIP- Judge Dredd helmet (comic style)

RobWolf

Okay, so this is my first prop posting on the RPF! Well it's not the first I have built, I have done a Proton Pack which is very rough around the edges but it outshines the Rubies' costume and cereal box efforts which are all I've ever seen in my town! Now I know a lot of you are SERIOUS prop builders with lots of fancy gear and lots of money and a hell of a lot of patience. Me, I'm a novice, I don't have much money (just landed a new job though :) ) and I don't have a lot of patience, so when I build a model etc I just do it casually to occupy my time. Maybe I will get better...

Anyway, because I have really gotten into Judge Dredd in a big way over the past 7 months, a while ago I started work on a Lawgiver Mk1 and a Dredd helmet....well the Lawgiver is on hold for now as I was building it from a NES Zapper and sadly it broke during construction and is not salvageable.

However, my Dredd helmet is progressing and it's now in a stage where I can show it to you, it is very rough around the edges at this point though.

I have been using 'Emerald Isle' as my main reference for the helmet, as drawn by Steve Dillon, I like how it looks in that one. I'm not over keen on the cheekplates having that curve when viewed from the front...I know Termight's has it and others have built theirs that way, I'm not criticising them at all but I prefer the straight-edged look
smile.gif
Now the Emerald Isle helmet has quite a low-profile mohawk section, and for most of the story the respirator badge appears to curve around the front of the helmet, I originally wanted to try and recreate that but rather early on decided to go the easier route of buying a respirator badge from Termight and working around that. Thanks to Wake BTW, fantastic work on those badges.

Some of my reference:

reference1.jpg

reference2q.jpg