Page 1 of 6 123456 LastLast
Subscribe
    From
    Los Angeles, United States
    Jun 18, 2010, 8:04 PM - Buzz Lightyear Costume Ideas #1

I saw Toy Story 3 at midnight at the Zeigfeld in NY and Woody and Buzz from Disney World showed up to open the movie (quite a treat).

For a While I've wanted to make a Buzz Lightyear costume but never really found any evidence of someone pulling it off. Now I have seen threads on this costume, but nothing has ever come of it.

I'm guessing foam is the way to go with his, but I'm really a noob when it comes to any kind of foam sculpting. I'm very curious what kind of brainstorming could be done here on how to execute a top notch Buzz Lightyear costume like the Boston Legal or Cruise Musical version.

Here's the Boston Legal one (only pics I could find):

The Musical:

The Park:

TO INFINITY AND BEYOND !!!!!

Moony
  2. CustomPropSculptorGuy is offline CustomPropSculptorGuy
    Jun 18, 2010, 9:05 PM - Re: Buzz Lightyear Costume Ideas #2

My buddies wife asked me if I was going to make one a few months ago. She works for Disney in Florida, and she knows a lot of the "high-end-clientel" and she's always asked about Toy Story characters...

I would suggest using, and this will vary from person to person, but I would suggest carving the shapes out of architectural foam, then layering fiberglass or even painting over it with Shell Shock, and then do your sanding and smoothing.

OR - you can go the traditional route of a clay sculpt, molds and then your choice of fabrication materials.
    From
    Alabang, P.I.
    Jun 18, 2010, 9:09 PM - Re: Buzz Lightyear Costume Ideas #3

i beleive rubber foam would be a nice material to consider using
    From
    Fishkill, NY
    Jun 18, 2010, 9:30 PM - Re: Buzz Lightyear Costume Ideas #4

screw Buzz, I want that Rex costume!
  5. Member Since
    May 2010
    Jun 18, 2010, 9:35 PM - Re: Buzz Lightyear Costume Ideas #5

allosaur176 said: View Post
    Agreed! That thing is so cool!