Full ANH Vader: (addition to ) My first attempt at a Vader Helmet

First Post = Hi!

I first got into the prop making hobby doing lightsabers and since I registered here I have been reading and learning some new things and wanted to try finishing up a helmet. This is my first attempt and it has been very satisfying so far.

The cast I bought after some sanding and filing:

Primed:

Sanded:

With more sanding and tusks:

Since it doesn't need to be too shiny, I was going to try epoxy appliance paint/epoxy gunmetal for the final coats. Currently it is just bondo and 3 coats of primer wetsanded down to a 1500 grit. I have read most threads I could find and watched some videos but still any advice from experts is welcomed.

Thanks for looking.

Last edited:
Re: My first attempt at a Vader Helmet

Excellent prep job! Your next stop is Pep Boys for some Duplicolor Universal Black.

Thanks a lot. I really appreciate all the research I have been able to do here at the RFP to make this. The Vader paint scheme is so weird to see painted for the first time especially after 30 odd years of my brain telling me it is all black. I really appreciate the feedback.

Yeah... it looks weird. I know. I was like WTF when I first learned it was two-toned. But after a short while... it just looked weird when someone showed off a completely black helmet.

Well done.

What gunmetal did you use?
Its a well done job but I would recommend a different gunmetal as that one does not quite match the screen look. The use of several shades and a sloppy brush seems to create the best looks that I have seen.

The gunmetal does look a bit on the light side, but it's certainly well done!

Go over it some with a slightly darker shade and see how she looks then.

And maybe polish the dome a bit? Should be pretty smooth, but smudgy.

I used a Humbrol metallic gunmetal and it does look a little light. That Duplicolor universal black looked a little weird to me as well. A little too glittery or something.