Photo Etched Parts Help

Watson

Sr Member
RPF PREMIUM MEMBER
So I bought all three sets of PE parts for the PL Refit I was commissioned to build. I have never used PE parts before and was hoping someone wiser in this area could offer up some advice. Or pictures would be nice as well.

Namely what is the best way to remove them from the sprue.

Cleaning them? Is it necessary before painting.

Attaching them? CA or other glue?

Then there are the parts that are made to go over the windows to separate the panes. Any ideas on the best way to go about those?

Thanks in advance.
JDH

<div class='quotetop'>QUOTE(Jades Dark Heart @ Apr 28 2006, 02:20 PM) [snapback]1234768[/snapback]</div>
So I bought all three sets of PE parts for the PL Refit I was commissioned to build. I have never used PE parts before and was hoping someone wiser in this area could offer up some advice. Or pictures would be nice as well.

Then there are the parts that are made to go over the windows to separate the panes. Any ideas on the best way to go about those?

Thanks in advance.
JDH
[/b]

To remove them from the sprue I usually ude the rearmost part of a modelling knife blade to guillotine the attachment point against a piece of steel.The base has to be solid or you'll end up denting/twisting the parts.If you can get in, a sharp pair of snips can also be used.Needle files can tidy up rough spots but the cuts are usually pretty clean.

I've never bothered cleaning photo etch parts unless they've corroded,never really had a problem.

CA is usually recommended but epoxy can be used also.

For clear parts you can sometimes find non fogging CA,(Tamiya make one) or use epoxy.

<div class='quotetop'>QUOTE(Jades Dark Heart @ Apr 28 2006, 10:20 AM) [snapback]1234768[/snapback]</div>

Thanks in advance.
JDH
[/b]

I have a pair of snips that have a perfectly flat side just for trimming things off of the sprues.