Tips for sculpting a mask?

Patattack

Sr Member
RPF PREMIUM MEMBER
I've never done any kind of sculpture before - at least, nothing that had to look like something else. :lol So I was wondering, if I want to sculpt a mask (mostly flat, but domed out a bit and hollow in the back) how should I start? What kind of materials should I use? Solid clay? Clay around something else?

I would really appreciate any advice!

If you want it to fit correct I suggest buying a Manniquen head and start laying down clay over that.

I typically always use oil based clay which is nice since it wont dry out or shrink if you dont finishing quickly and during molding as well.

Seach on ebay and where ever else for sculpting tools, which will help you create different surfaces and angles.

If you want it to fit correct I suggest buying a Manniquen head and start laying down clay over that.

I typically always use oil based clay which is nice since it wont dry out or shrink if you dont finishing quickly and during molding as well.

Seach on ebay and where ever else for sculpting tools, which will help you create different surfaces and angles.

Thanks!

...But as far as a base, a mannequin head won't do the trick - it's not really face-shaped at all.

majora_mask.jpg

In the case you can make a rough shape out of paper or anything really so you waste a bunch if clay bulding up the base, and then lay clay over the top of that.

Pat,

The picture you posted reminds me very much of the kind of papier-maché artwork that you can find in Mexico. I've seen similar stylings in Cancun/Isla Mujeres, but I'm sure the art extends across the whole country.

Is this mask for display or wearing? Either way, I would rough out the shape with balloons and newspaper, or foam, and then cover with papier-maché. When dried, it's sandable and then you can seal with shellac and paint. The cones can be done separately from the heart and added later to keep the forms simple.