Subscribe
  1. RPF Premium Member Patattack's Avatar
    From
    Ann Arbor, MI
    Dec 9, 2008, 6:39 PM - Tips for sculpting a mask? #1

I've never done any kind of sculpture before - at least, nothing that had to look like something else. So I was wondering, if I want to sculpt a mask (mostly flat, but domed out a bit and hollow in the back) how should I start? What kind of materials should I use? Solid clay? Clay around something else?

I would really appreciate any advice!
    From
    Southern Cali (Orange County)
    Dec 9, 2008, 8:29 PM - Re: Tips for sculpting a mask? #2

If you want it to fit correct I suggest buying a Manniquen head and start laying down clay over that.

I typically always use oil based clay which is nice since it wont dry out or shrink if you dont finishing quickly and during molding as well.

Seach on ebay and where ever else for sculpting tools, which will help you create different surfaces and angles.
  3. RPF Premium Member Patattack's Avatar
    From
    Ann Arbor, MI
    Dec 9, 2008, 10:08 PM - Re: Tips for sculpting a mask? #3

Tim Allen said: View Post
    If you want it to fit correct I suggest buying a Manniquen head and start laying down clay over that.

I typically always use oil based clay which is nice since it wont dry out or shrink if you dont finishing quickly and during molding as well.

Seach on ebay and where ever else for sculpting tools, which will help you create different surfaces and angles.
    Thanks!

...But as far as a base, a mannequin head won't do the trick - it's not really face-shaped at all.

From
    Southern Cali (Orange County)
    Dec 10, 2008, 1:07 AM - Re: Tips for sculpting a mask? #4

In the case you can make a rough shape out of paper or anything really so you waste a bunch if clay bulding up the base, and then lay clay over the top of that.
    From
    Sweden
    Dec 10, 2008, 8:57 AM - Re: Tips for sculpting a mask? #5