X-Wing Research: Differences Between the Hero and Pyro Models

-... . .- --..

Sr Member
Just wanted to pull this information out of a few other threads and have a place to discuss the original X-Wing miniatures constructed for Star Wars, in particular, the construction similarities and differences between the hero and pyro models.

Sounds like a plan. I'm no expert, but here's what I recall:

* overall fuse length differs (shorter on pyros...or is it?! LOL controversy!)
* pyro wings cast instead of built-up, so the cutouts on the inner surfaces don't have edges that you can see under
* pyro fuses cast in left/right halves instead of top/bottom
* some pyros equipped with simple sticks instead of cast laser cannons
* some pyros equipped with simplified laser cannon lacking heatsinks
* some pyro markings and paint very rough
* no wing mechanism on pyros

Must be oodles I've missed, yeah?

Last edited:
I would put money on Red 4 being the source of the pyros. We know exactly what a pryo wing should look like based on the photo in the Sculpting a Galaxy book. Infact all four wings are identical which makes it easier to identify a pyro.

The pyro wing has a few unique surface details that should be easily detected in any photo shown of an X-Wing. The top of the wing has a large rectangular chip that should be easily spotted (indicated by a yellow arrow below) which isn't there on Red 1,2 & 5. Other people will have to confirm whether Red3 has it but Red 4 clearly does.
pyroherohs0.jpg

Because the topside details of Red4 match the pyro I would be very surprised if the underside didn't match also. The underside has quite a few details that should be fairly easy to spot in other photos. Inside the square shape indent are three retangular strips which should cast some shadow if they exist on other heros. I see no evidence of these on Red's 1,2 or 5. Don't know about Red3.

See pic below, the red arrows show the details unique to a pyro casting.
wingsns2.jpg