MR Millennium Falcon help

vaderperp

RPF PREMIUM MEMBER
Hi all, I have the Studio Scale Millennium Falcon and need help solving some minor flaws with it. Mine has a great paint job but there are a few minor issues. First, I notice there are spots where you see a glossy spot or shine due to the glue spillover when a few greeblies were attached. I have no real model experience and I realize removing some of the glue will probably remove the paint job. Is there anything I can do to dull the shine on the excessive glue spots without taking away the paint finish under the glue? Second, there is a tiny spot that was not painted in whatever the base coat of the Falcon is. What color and brand paint is recommended? It is small enough that a simple brush will take care of it. MR does not have any more replacements so this is my only hope!

I've been a long time lurker here and admire the talent here. I'd comment more but I just do not have much modeling experience but I really enjoy seeing the process in which things get created. Any help is greatly appreciated!

Get Testors dull coat in a spray can, spray a little on the areas in question, use a piece of paper to mask surrouding but it doesn't matter if it goes on the other areas, once dried which takes a few minutes it will blend in perfectly and you will not notice.

I did it in several spots were there was shiny scuffs because of rubbing ect... I just used the dullcoat and everything came out perfect. Beware try not to use masking tape, somehow I tried masking a area and on one of the pipping the paint just peeled off.

The base color is 50/50 grime white and reefer white made by Floquil, I used straight grime white for my touch ups, it seemed to match better on mine.

GFollano

Last edited: