Professor Trelawney Costume in Progress

Blancnoir

Hello, I'm new to the RPF but a friend to a longtime member who encouraged me to create a profile and post. I am working on a Professor Trelawney (Harry Potter) costume. I am going for realistic, but am allowing for "close" when exact isn't cost effective or readily feasible. Looking at photos online, I am finding there are some differences between movies, but am going for the headbanded/sweater-wearing version.

As of right now, I am collecting items to put together. I am waiting for a skirt to arrive that I can modify with bottom trim. I have purchased some knit scarves I believe I can use to make her over sweater. I have a blouse coming that I will modify, I'm thinking with a dickey to fit under the blouse. I have some boots I plan to cut to fit like her shoes. I'm interested in connecting with others who have been down this road. I am also going to make some jewelry, but I think that falls under props?

Right now I am working on the sweater/shawl part. I see a lot of costumes online where they just put on a shawl/scarf, but if you watch the video here, you'll see there is definitely a back to it. In this photo you can see there is either a collar or perhaps a large hood? Or maybe this is some sort of sleeve cuff. I haven't figured that out yet. I purchased three open weave brown scarves with fringe. I plan to lay two of them side by side and stitch or crochet them together half way up. This will make a shawl/jacket. I will then tack a bit under the arms for armholes. I will use the third scarf for whatever is going on for the collar/hood/attachment. . . as soon as I figure that out. Photos to follow once I get the pieces and sew them together.

Thanks for the links. The hardest part, I think, is getting close-ups on some of the details, like her jewelry. There are a few, of course. I find that many of them are different.