Personal pics of OT studio shooting models

SethS

Master Member
RPF PREMIUM MEMBER
Hey guys-- so while I am mostly a lightsaber guy, I do love me all OT models and props.

I am currently working on a show, and my EP/director is a guy pretty well known for collecting props and costumes from movies (horror mostly). But he does happen to have a few OT ship models. I have been to his house a dozen times and just assumed they were repros, but apparently they are actual ILM studio models shot and used int he film.

I don't know the pedigree or details like I would say looking at a lightsaber prop, but he has an X-Wing and Y-Wing...

XY.jpg

And sitting on a shelf he has a Falcon. I looked it over, and I'm pretty sure this is the same 2 ft model seen in the Archives book that was made for ESB. Again, I'm not an expert so I couldn't say for sure... but to think this dude just has it sitting in his house and I got to touch it is pretty cool.

mf1.jpgMF2.jpg

I wanted to take more, but I didn't want to be a rude house guest.

I'm no expert either, but I know enough to say these aren't originals. Beside the non-original parts like the cockpits and pilots, people here have been keeping track of what have become of pretty much every model. There is only a couple of surviving ywing and their location is known and the original millenium falcon models are still owned by lucasfilm

I have to agree. The black marking on top of the Falcon cockpit is unique to the 5 footer, it isn't on the 2 footer. Also the cockpit interiors were not that detailed. Nice models though. Did the guy claim they are originals?

Thanks! I've challenged the provenance of many a lightsaber so I appreciate knowledge! He said the were from ILM and refurbed. He thought they were originals, but wasn't fully sure. I can say looking up close they are definitely not off-the-shelf, and the greeblies are legit, but that doesn't mean they were the prinary shooting models.