Fallout, Vault-Tec Scientist Dosimeter

zapwizard

Sr Member
RPF PREMIUM MEMBER

Okay, the past few days took me down a rabbit hole...

-------------

I have been working for a few years on my Functional Pip-Boy 3000 Mk IV (From Fallout 4) build. Once I start getting physical parts, I will probably make a few videos. And so I should have some Fallout appropriate attire right?

-------------

I don't really want to do another Vault Suit. And since I am an engineer who is pretending I am working at RobCo Industries, so how about doing a Scientist lab coat!

Okay, I am really just wimping out as this seemed like a dirt easy costume to put together. And so I go and dig up images of the Vault-Tec Scientist lab coat. That is when I see it: Part of the costume is an old-school Dosimeter. So I just had to go about designing my own. Yes, I hope to make it functional.

-------------

The gauge on the in-game texture is obviously taken from a real geiger counter panel meter. So I re-made the gauge artwork in CorelDraw.

-------------------------

I opened up the model in NifScope and took screenshots of each side of the prop. I bring these into SolidEdge and use them as reference when building the 3D model. I also look carefully at the normal map to see the actual artist original intent, rather than just take the low-polygon model at face value.

Now I have to decide how big is this thing? I determined it using two methods: Measuring my own shoulder width, and comparing that to the lab coat. And comparing the toggle switch to a real-world toggle switch.

That makes the Dosimeter just 85mm square. The rad gauge glass is just 28mm in diameter. This thing is, well, pocket sized.
As I like to use real-world materials whenever possible, I set out to find off-the-shelf components I could use.