Help Needed with Jocasta Nu’s Lightsaber Rifle

Wraith

I am new to prop-making, and I currently lack the skills, the tools, and the expertise needed for this project. I’m willing to learn, which is why I’m here. Any helpful advice would be greatly appreciated.

I want to create a replica of the Jedi lightsaber rifle/blaster that Jocasta Nu used against Vader in the Darth Vader comic book series.

1F46C0FF-7FBC-4C4B-A95F-ADE79FA47803.jpeg

Here are the components I think are involved:
  • Wood (or replicated) rifle stock
  • Lightsaber hilt (empty to save cost and weight, but could be used to house the batteries)
  • Decorated barrel (hollow for electronics)

I want to take this to conventions, so obviously, I need to make sure that this cannot be mistaken for a real weapon.

My current plan of attack for this project:
  1. Find an appropriate lightsaber hilt. This will set the proper scale for the rifle.
  2. Create working electronics for the entire project. Lights, sound effects, triggers, batteries, etc.
  3. Find and/or create decorative pieces (blue oval shapes, the ornate barrel, etc.)
  4. Draft a cutting pattern for the stock. Have an expert do the cutting, hollowing out of spaces for electronics, and decorative carving.
  5. Stain and paint the pieces. Insert electronics. Final assembly and testing.

Aside from the rifle stock, which will probably need to be wood to support the other pieces, what materials do you suggest?

Should I try to find a way to 3D print the decorative part of the barrel? If so, how do I go about that process and which material would be best for such an intricate design?

Does anyone know a good source for the oval pieces? I’m thinking they should be clear with blue LEDs behind them, but I’m open to other options.

Thanks in advance!

To my knowledge there has never been a commercially available version of her saber. There are good detail shots in some Clone Wars concept art.