Mpc falcon what a peace of junk ultimate build

Falcon fan

So me I am a model builder I get kits and just build them but I try and make them better than out of the box. So the other day at a toy show I got and found a original MPC millennium falcon kit that came out in 1979. So now with building it I’ll be using 3D printed parts to correct and fix things on it but what I’m having a hard time trying to decide is what look to go for with it. A new hope or empire strikes back So Star Wars fans what’s the difference between the 2. And are there more references for one over the other once I can find out then I know what direction to go.

Hi. This actually should be in the Models > General Modelling category, to be pendantic, since the MPC kit isn't studio scale. (ie: it's not to the same scale as the model used in the movies)

Anyway. The main difference between the ANH/1977 and ESB/1980 Falcons is that the former had 3 landing gear boxes containing 5 landing gear legs. The latter had an extra two boxes added to the front, for a total of 7 landing gear legs. The remaining differences are subtle.

The MPC kit was modelled after the ANH/1977 ship. It takes more work to modify it to the ESB era.

There are also numerous differences in the actual detailing of he model, and if you want to get a bit picky (who doesn't) the hull curvature is different - with the ESB/32" Falcon being "flatter". It should be noted that the original 3 leg Falcon had the other 2 added during the EBS filming to match the smaller 32" model as well.

So the MPC model was "supposed" to be a model of the original 5 foot model. However it has a lot of inaccuracies to fix - and really no matter what you do it will never be "right". That being said "fixing" an MPC falcon is kind of a right of passage. Doing it well will teach you a TON about kit-bashing and scratchbuilding... as well as 3D modeling, or at least cleaning up and using 3D printed parts.