Sculpting in hydrocal for vacuum forming project (a helmet)?

sohcahtoa

Hello anyone listening. I'm planning on making a very fitted robot helmet by lifecasting my head in two-parts (a front piece and a back piece) (with smooth on, plaster bandages, and hydrocal) and then sculpt around that (with a sculpting mixture of the hydrocal mixed with acryl 60). Then I plan to vacuum form that with PETG. And attach it all together with rivets and elastic bands.

Please note: I am sorry if this is not the right place to post something like this.
And another word of caution: I have no experience in prop making. My background is in clothing construction/sewing. But I have been researching and trying to learn things for a while now.

Here are two quick simplified sketches of my idea:
https://imgur.com/a/J9vic

It's a rather simple silhouette so I'm hoping it won't be too difficult of a project for a newbie. I've been watching sculpting videos on YouTube, but none of them work with Hydrocal. Should I use a different material to sculpt onto the hydrocal lifecast?

But another big obstacle for me is the vacuum forming. I'm not opposed to paying someone to do it at a shop... but I just want to be able to do this myself...
So, I want to make my own vacuum former, but I don't know how to deal with the heat source.
My oven is not big enough to fit large sheets (and I don't really want the fumes wafting around the house).
I've seen xrobot's DIY version with his 2,000 watt patio heater, but I'm from the U.S. and apparently our voltage is much weaker? From what I've read, the heat isn't strong enough or something.
So, I'm wondering if it could work if I rigged two 1,500 watt heaters, one on the top and one on the bottom of the plastic?
I dunno. Is there a better way?
I'll probably just end up paying someone at this point (hopefully I make decent enough sculptures/molds to get here).

Anyway... shoot me any advice/tips/criticisms (hopefully someone has any)...