Sealing a Paper Master For Molding?

maddoghoek100

Thanks in advance for any insights. I'm new to molding and casting but the creativity and sharing of the prop modeling community has been so amazing. My normal gig is designing pure origami sculptures, but i am branching out into molding my designs and making cold cast origami sculptures. One of the big hurdles has been sealing the various creases and voids in the folded paper models to make a "water tight" master. I have been getting some good success but my stretch goal is a dragon that may go beyond my current skills and materials. I am wondering if there are some great products or alternate techniques out there that may be a better fit.

I use sculpy to fill large voids and a range of white glue and super glue to seal layers of paper together. It has been important to me to maintain the paper texture so i have avoided thinks like dipping the model in resin, but am open to it. My current approach has two large issues:
- the sculpy separates from the paper leaving cracks for silicone. So a clay with a little tackyness would be amazing.
- the glue always has a few little pin holes or spots where the silicone creeps in. Something low viscosity with a short dry time might be a life saver

Any help is much appreciated. I have been makings mostly 2 part molds, Im probably going to split the dragon it into 5 molds (head, tail, wing, wing, body), but i am completely open to better molding ideas to deal with all the overhangs undercuts and other assorted difficulties, be that a glove, matrix, or other mold type.

Recent Complete Cold Cast Origami Lion
dateposted-public

dateposted-public

The next project up is this Origami Dragon (full of nooks, crannies, and places where multiple layers of paper are stacked that the silicone is going to get in and not want to come back out of)

Last edited:
Hi

Never made a silicone mold of a paper model like this, so these are just thoughts: