Costume Appropriateness at Shows

mcdavies

OK...I have no experience with these shows and need opinions from those of you who are...

My son (21 y/o) is a HUGE Black Panther fan. He wants me to go to the Toronto Comicon in that costume but he's Caucasian. Do you think anyone would find that inappropriate / offensive? The last thing we'd want to do is upset anyone. I'm even concerned asking for thoughts here as it might make people uncomfortable..however, better here than at the show!

Thanks in advance for your help...you all know the nature of those who attend shows far better than I...

Mark

I don't see any problem with it. I think it's cool that Black Panther is his favorite superhero. I recently saw pics of a boy who cosplayed Wonder Woman and it was awesome. I think as long as he doesn't do his cosplay in blackface, he should be fine.

It's definitely a concern. There will probably be people who are upset and who might see it as offensive, or at least inappropriate. It's a sticky situation and your son will have to decide for himself if he thinks he would be okay with disapproving looks or comments. He won't get the chance to explain to everyone who sees him that he's wearing the costume because he loves the character. Not everyone is going to have the same reaction to this. Some people are going to think it's awesome, others are going to be hurt or angry.

This is a hard situation to navigate. I'm firmly of the mind that anyone should be able to cosplay any character, no matter their ethnicity, gender, or body type. However, having a white person cosplay a character of colour is a potentially loaded situation (as you're aware, since you started this thread!). There are comparatively so few characters of colour in media that he might be seen as "stealing" one by dressing as Black Panther. He needs to be aware of that, and that he's broaching a sensitive and emotionally/politically-laden topic by wearing the costume.