Help Making A Silicone Mask Of A Clay Mold?

Matt Watson

Hello, I'm new to making masks and doing molds and everything.
I'm a novice.

I have a sculpt (WIP) Of Jason Voorhees from Friday the 13th Part 4: The Final Chapter

This is the first sculpture I've ever done in my life.

I'm wanting to know what the best process would be to be able to take this mold and make a shell over it?
Or have a method of pouring silicone to create a mask out of my clay mold.

My concern comes when looking at all the dips and details in the piece.

What resin should I use? Will it damage or break my sculpture?
Jason1.jpgJason2.jpgJason3.jpgJason4.jpgJason5.jpgJason6.jpg

Last edited:
Given that this is new terrain for you, I would steer you toward making a plaster mold and a latex mask. It's much simpler, much less expensive, and can still yield excellent results, especially for a design like this one that won't get much mobility in the face anyway if it were done in silicone. Best to walk before you run.

To clarify terminology, what you have there is a clay sculpture. You'll make a mold of that, which will be the negative (the "shell" you speak of). Then you'll cast the mask in the mold. Search around for mask making tutorials, as there is a lot of information out there.

The only details that may give you a bit of grief there are the acrylic teeth, since you'll likely be making a hard mold over them and it could lock them in. One option is to remove those teeth before molding, and glue them to the final mask in the sockets that will remain. You could also sculpt them in clay now, instead of using the hard teeth, and then you'd be able to scrape them out of the mold. Just a couple of options to stay on the safe side.

Yeah I planned on removing the teeth as I figured it'd make making a negative hard to take off...
I probably will just reinsert them using clay and paint them later on.