Replica Apollo-era A7L Spacesuit Build Thread (pic heavy)

AKurtz

This is my first build thread but I've been following theRPF for quite a few years. What a great community and a tremendous resource for anybody interested in costumes and propmaking! I've learned a lot of tricks and techniques from the members here and I'm pretty excited to share what my wife and I have been working on with the help of my brother.

Like a lot of you I'm a big fan of NASA and space exploration in general. Right now feels like a really pivotal time for the field and I'm very interested to see where we go from here. With that said, the moon missions of the 60s and 70s have always been especially inspiring for me, and I've been interested in tackling this project since I first saw the archival news footage from the Apollo missions and movies like the Right Stuff and Apollo 13 as a kid.

I'd like to give a shout out to several members here at theRPF whose build threads have inspired us and have given us ideas (and continue to do so). A special thanks goes to Dark Jedi and Mr. Nagata for sharing their amazing work and resources and showing a bunch of hacks like my team what is possible.

Full disclosure, this project has been ongoing for quite a while and is very nearly complete, so if it looks like we're going fast, just know that we are skipping quite a bit of development time. As I'm sure other members who have taken on this suit can attest, this is a pretty involved project and not for the faint of heart. Luckily, we knew none of this going in or we might have tried something simpler. Anyway, here goes:

We started with the accessories:

IMG_3687.jpgIMG_4183.jpg