Batman Ascending Knight Build

CosBlade

BATMAN - ASCENDING KNIGHT
Mezco-Batman-Ascending-Knight-001.jpg

I'm in love with Mezco's Batman Ascending Knight figure, and have decided I have to take a crack at replicating the suit, since the batsuit dispay I'm working on has room for two! I'll be doing the default black and gray version, not one of the alternates they're releasing. I'm currently wrapping up another build or two first, but then I'll be grabbing parts for this, thought I'd post and see if I can get a headstart against the few challenges I see here.

The Cowl and Neckguard
A two piece cowl? Yes, please. I've got some experience working with EVA foam, and as a regular viewer of Xieng Prod on YouTube, I know I can tackle the cowl itself with relative ease. I just bought some 3mm craft foam, and plan on heat forming the face over one of those cheap plastic BvS Batman masks, then building up the rest as a sort of helmet. Since the design is plain black, and not textured like leather, this makes things simple. Just have to build the helmet, plastidip it, and insert the lenses.
The neck guard will be made from a 3mm neoprene diving hood, bulked out with some upholstery foam for neck muscles, and skinned in a stretch fabric before being plastidipped to match the cowl. Having made a full body muscle suit once already, this seems easy.
3923.jpg

The Cape
The cape seems like your usual pleather 6 or 8 panel cape, but I've been considering altering the pattern some. Since this is based on the classic Kane/Finger batsuit, I looked at some of the older designs as inspiration. I'm not yet 100% on this idea, but I may make the cape scoop upwards at the sides, to about crotch length. This way, when I raise my arms to the sides, the hands are uncovered, but the cape still drapes, and with the scallops this would give a very wraithlike appearance.
Kotobukiya ARTFX - Batman First Appearance 0004.jpg

Gloves