Iron Man MkIII 3D Print Project

IronDan27

Ok here it goes. I've been lurking on here for a few years reading countless threads and using this site as a great educational resource. Over the last few years I have wanted to build an Iron Man suit--a goal that has not been reached yet but will begin soon enough. I have tried paper builds and then tried foam...and well lets just say my crafting levels are not on par with some of you on here lol. All hope seemed lost until I saw some 3D printing builds--3D printing was something i always wanted to dabble in and this seemed like the best project. Over the last week I have been doing lots of research, downloading programs, and getting some models to start, I had downloaded a MkIII file from CGTrader as an stl and began splitting up the model. However once I imported that into Cura it went from smooth to jagged looking (keep in mind I'm a noob at this). I have watched tons of youtube videos but nobody seems to answer my question of why my model is doing that so i figured I'd try asking on here since many of you are more knowledgeable than me at this point.

So hear is the question: How do you import an stl or obj and keep the model integrity? Again I'm a beginner and maybe overlooked something.

Attached are some pictures: The dark green picture is how my model shows up in meshmixer (smooth). Then the full faceplate one is what it looks like once i import it to my 3D printer software (edgy). And just to compare I downloaded MiddleFinger's Silver Centurion helmet and loaded the bottom faceplate to see if I would get the same result and that shows up smoother. And am confused as to why that is.

If anybody has any advice on good modelling programs or 3D-printing in general I'm all ears

Thank you for your time.

Attachments

• MK3 Faceplate in Cura.PNG
    MK3 Faceplate in Cura.PNG
    49.8 KB · Views: 370
  • MK3 Faceplate.PNG
    MK3 Faceplate.PNG
    67.3 KB · Views: 389
  • MK33 Faceplate.PNG
    MK33 Faceplate.PNG