Newby to foam fabrication in nedd of help

Zolixius

Hello everyone at the RPF forums. I'm here to reach out in search of help. I've recently because intrigued with making and building. I currently work as a metal fabricator for a shop that contracts with Boeing and the military but I want to branch into home projects and builds. I want to get into foam props the most as it looks easiest with little tools needed. Where I'm stuck is how to make templates from scratch as i am terrible withfree hand drawing. I've been watching a lot of YouTube videos on how to get started foam fabricating but the templates have been giving me some trouble getting them just right. Any help would be so much appreciated. Thank you in advance!

It's quite alright, I don't think anyone here completely freehands their patterns. When I build a prop like a sword or a gun out of foam, I first draw a doodle of it on graph paper. Then I use the grid marks to determine how much I want to scale each part up to full size, and use more graph paper (hey, it's cheap) to make the full-size patterns, with a ruler or protractor to help make nice straight lines. If it's a symmetrical piece I can just fold something in half when cutting to make both sides the same. I'll have the entire mockup in paper, overlapping and laid out nicely to make sure it looks good before I trace each piece onto foam and cut! Look at enough tutorials and picture guides and you can see that even the pros have tons of sketch marks on their unfinished patterns and foam where they re-drew something more than once (especially curvy bits) until it was just the right shape. As long as you're not gouging the foam with your pen, all mistakes be covered up by the paint job anyways. Good starter projects are things like shields since they're mostly basic geometric shapes that get you used to working with foam before going all crazy with the details.