Ironman 3D Print Build...help a newbie!

mcdavies

Hi all...new to the site and blown away with what people are doing! Hoping you can help me...

I'm totally new to this and have decided to tackle an Ironman Mk46 Build using 3D printing. I have the files and all is going pretty good but have what I hope is a simple question. The hand is in two parts...pic attached. I know it sounds simple, but I'm having a heck of a time figuring out how to put them together so they can open and close when putting it on. I've tried straps, magnets, hinges...I can get it kinda working but I get the feeling I'm missing something. So...rather than reinvent the wheel...

i spent a couple hours going thru threads to try and find an answer. A few posts stating things like "use a magnet"...unfortunately, I need a bit more direction than that!

Can anyone suggest a solution? If you can post pics to show me, that would be awesome!

Thanks in advance and, again, this site is awesome!

Mark

IMG_0809.JPG

Hey pal,

For my first 3d printed Iron Man suit (mk43), I cut a very small section out to clear a small hinge on the outside of the hand and used rectangle earth magnets on the other side to keep it closed. Works just fine for me. Hope this helps. Best of luck on your build

-Tony

hand3.jpg

Thanks Tony...will give that a shot. I tried a prototype kinda like that but with smaller magnets...it wasn't staying closed. Seeing your suggestion, I think that will solve my problem!

You can try to use some elastic, but might now last in the long run. Also how did you scale the hand armor when you printed it?

I played around with elastic straps too. It works, but not a very elegant solution...I suppose I could just "get 'er done" but wasn't sure I'd be happy with that in the long run.