Darth Vader One Month Build (2018 Revision)

GoldenAvenger

Hello all!

I thought I'd share my current Darth Vader build I'm working on in time for Halloween this year. I did Chewie last year and it was a big hit, and while the Rubies suit is fairly impressive I wanted to step up my game and try and make my own Vader. I'm a student on a little bit of a budget - so sadly I can't get the ANOVOS Darth Vader, but I'm gonna try and come close.

My ultimate goal is to have a speaker in the helmet with lights for the control boxes, but that might have to be done after Halloween.

Project Plan:

-Helmet/Shoulders/Shins/Cod: I found some pepakura files to use. I've previously worked on Iron Man and some other parts so I felt comfortable with it. At the time I'm writing this I have the helmet completely assembled in paper, and will work on the shoulder, shins, and Cod pieces next. The Silhouette definitely helps speeding this up between the auto perforate and speed of cutting

-Capes, 60" bought from Amazon. I bought two for under $20 for both the inner tabard and outer cape.

-Leather bodysuit. I have a local seamstress helping me make this part. We put together a plan to use pleather and then some flannel like material to stuff it with to get the texture effect

-Boots, I wear size 15 so either the existing boots I have found are too small or they're insanely nice leather ones that cost several hundred. I found a $25 pair of steel toe rubber boots to wear. They're very plain but considering the shin armor fits over it, it's not much of a concern.