Hoth diorama

Arno

Hello everyone,

I am planning to make a 1:144 Hoth diorama. Anyone have some advice on how to scratch build an Ion Cannon a.k.a. V-150 Planet Defender?

Also has anyone an idea what the measurements would be on 1:144 scale?

Thanks,

Arno

Hi Arno and welcome aboard ... what a great idea ... I'm not good with scales, yet I am one known to do lots of research ... so put on your google cap and search for Hoth scenes etcetera ... and if you find a picture of an AT-AT with the Ion canon perhaps you can estimate what the size of it would be and then get some plastic balls to start scratchbuilding one ... also I have seen them made before so either use the search feature here or google ... can't wait to see what you come up with :)

Chaïm

Years ago, Kenner made a bunch of play sets that came with small metal figures. there was a Hoth base set that had a snowy mountain, and an ion cannon that was pretty good! Try ebay, you might find one there, iirc it was about the size of a baseball.

Years ago, Kenner made a bunch of play sets that came with small metal figures. there was a Hoth base set that had a snowy mountain, and an ion cannon that was pretty good! Try ebay, you might find one there, iirc it was about the size of a baseball.
The micro collection. I loved that stuff.I know the characters weren't pose-able but the playsets were awesome

For anyone interested in the size, here it is along with my 1/72 stuff and some micromachine figures (not the micro collection figures which are bigger

It definitely is better suited to a 1/144 stuck in the background

If your interested, I can get some pics of it with some 1/144 stuff

Thanks for the advice, Ill definitely give that a go. My only problem is that I can't gat an image where the AT-AT and the cannon are close to eachother. The distance is making it hard for me to make an estimate.

- - - Updated - - -