Beginner's Fiber Optics Questions

computergeek

RPF PREMIUM MEMBER
Hey all,

I'm relatively new to the modeling scene. I've built a few Revell models over the year, but most of my creative projects are props and costumes (I'm a member of the 501st). I saw the Revell Republic Star Destroyer (Venator) model kit, and fell in love. I wanted to go all out and add fiber optics, engine lights, etc. to make the kit look extra special. I've done some reading around the internet on using fiber optics, but I still have some questions.

1. At what point do you drill holes and run fiber optics? Should it be before painting is done? Or wait until after painting, before any washes? Or after all painting is done?

2. Does anyone have a recommendation of a good pin vise? I've gotten two from Amazon that are okay, but I can't imagine drilling dozens of holes with them.

Thanks for your time, I'm looking forward to learning more about all of this!

1- install FO before painting, leaving the strands longer than need be so they can be cut at the end of the build/paint
2-you will be drilling hundreds, not dozens! I bought a drill press set up for my dremel and that is what I had planned on using.

Hey all,

I'm relatively new to the modeling scene. I've built a few Revell models over the year, but most of my creative projects are props and costumes (I'm a member of the 501st). I saw the Revell Republic Star Destroyer (Venator) model kit, and fell in love. I wanted to go all out and add fiber optics, engine lights, etc. to make the kit look extra special. I've done some reading around the internet on using fiber optics, but I still have some questions.

1. At what point do you drill holes and run fiber optics? Should it be before painting is done? Or wait until after painting, before any washes? Or after all painting is done?

2. Does anyone have a recommendation of a good pin vise? I've gotten two from Amazon that are okay, but I can't imagine drilling dozens of holes with them.