Macross / Robotech Helmet EVA Foam Build - Started 2nd Try

Felgacarb

Sr Member
So, I finally got around to watching an Evil Ted tutorial on youtube.
I'd been intimidated by helmet construction, and had not seriously tried one before.
But after meeting Ted at a prop party, it sounded like EVA foam might be a good method to try.

I watched a few of the tutorials and the next day went out and bought some EVA foam floor mats.

So- since this is my first attempt, I decided to just go for it, start to finish, even if things get weird, and treat it as a learning experience-

Here goes-

What I'm trying to build: Rick Hunter's fighter pilot helmet-

Step one was to begin a pattern with aluminum foil and duct tape over a manquin head. I ordered an inexpensive head online, but it will be a couple of weeks before I get it.
Instead, I pulled down a light fixture that looked head size, and used that!

I was surprised at how easy it is to cut and heat shape this foam. I see why people like it. Next up was the contact cement....

This is where using a sphere instead of a true head shape made things a bit odd. However, I pushed on!

Adding more details helped.

Not terrible- Then I added smaller details with Foamy craft foam...

Next, I hit it with plasti-dip:

Then I hand painted the bright blue and red on with some left over acrylic paint...

So, things I've learned:

The right form when starting the pattern does matter...
I should make this helmet a smidge bigger overall.
I need to go back to the tutorial on smoothing the seams.
For a more serious build I will only use the plasti-dip as a sealer, and will spray on all the other colors.

So, to recap, the goal:

And here is how I ended up:

The plan is to (eventually!) do this again, now that I have a good idea of how it all works!

Thanks for looking, and thanks to Evil Ted, who makes great foam costumes and tutorials!

Last edited:
Re: Macross / Robotech Helmet (My First) EVA Foam Build