Tested inpired Spacegun, (altered Nerf Gun)j

Amsterdamned

Hello there ;)

After seeing Adam Savage's build of the Nerf gun in Tested, I started working on my own one-day build (was 2 actually because of the paint job).

I saw this cheap toy gun in a thrift store in my town for about .50 cents and it looked gorgeous.
It didn't work anymore that is why it was so cheap, but then again, I was only going to use it as a prop.

The design is quite nice and adds to the futuristic look I wanted to create.

Now I have to tell you that I am a complete noob in building and creating but I just idolize what people can create and come up with.
And I want to be a part of that world and be able to build my own builds,,,be a maker haha

(been a member for the RPF about 3 years now and was always just luring :))

That being said, because my contract at work was ending, I now have a bit more free time so I've cleaned up my toolshed and bought some stuff.

The video of Adam Savage painting a prop gun gave some good instructions for me to follow.

First sting I did was sand the plastic with Scotch Brite and then used white spray primer,
DSC_0005.JPG
Like this ;) (sorry didn't make a photo before the primer, real stupid I know, but it was green with a darker shade of green and silver in the middle)

DSC_0021.jpg
DSC_0031.jpg
DSC_0036.jpg
(Had some damage after the masking tape went off,,,I'll incorporate it in the design/weathering cuz I cant seem to fix this..bad masking tape I guess)
dDSC_0047.jpg
See,,,(damn shame. the masking tape ripps the paint off and leaves a sticky surface, any suggestions how to prevent it??)

DSC_0046.jpg
This is the result,, I've weathered it with different kind of colors paint and used the bad parts to make it look like there was rust of smudge.
Because I couldn't find rub'n'buff (think that they don't have it here) I again used the scotch brite to give it a damaged look. also I used a very faint coat of black matte paint to give it a little darker look.