Imperial Probe Droid - full size

cckaiser2

RPF PREMIUM MEMBER
I've searched all over but cannot find anyone who's replicated a full size imperial probe droid. I'm thinking of attempting it. I've seen a reference to size at roughly 7' tall. I'd love any additional dimensions. Also, any suggestions for starting point on main shapes and potential materials(foam, aluminum...?)

318c3a57efcfd9461e99a37e860dbadf.jpg

Thanks!

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

I have no knowledge of how they made or what they made the prob droid from. But this is one of my favorite droids so memorable. I hope it goes well! I would probably start by getting hold of a smaller one, I think there might be models around. Some one will chime in and have some answers.

Wow, this is gonna be a fun journey.
Personally, I'd probably go the mdf route to start the body and "head".
I know some hate working with it, but you'll get the strength out of it you'll need and still be able to work the shapes.
That photo is a pretty nice reference.
If you look at the two cylinders on the right of the larger one, they appear to be on the left side of the smaller one, showing you almost the whole body.
Good luck.
Will definitely be checking back in to this.
Robert

I'm thinking of scrapping an old Weber charcoal grill for the top piece, then combo of foam/aluminum. I need to figure out how it will be displayed. I'd love to have it attached to an arm coming out of a wall so it appears to float. That way I could also mount it to a wheeled dolly if someone wanted to display it at a convention. There's a 26" Weber grill - which would put the largest part of the droid roughly 32" across. I'm open to every possible suggestion. I can't believe these haven't been replicated here before.

First of all...great idea, would be watching a project like this with great interest.

Anyway, answering your question(s) is a bit difficult...