How do I make a 2-part mould around a clay figurine

Nicoolai

Hi guys,
I'm completely new to sculpting, moulding and everything related to it.

I've watched a lot of videos about mould-making, where clay is used around the master, to create the first part of the mould.
But how do I go about this, if my master is made of clay (chavant/monster-clay/etc)?

That is a pretty vague question. You can get a better answer by providing more information, like What kind of clay? How Big? (Adding a photo, if like adding 1K words!) What will the final part be made with?

YouTube has many mold making videos. They can be a great resource.

Are you worried about building clay partitions on a clay sculpture & damaging the surface detail on your sculpture in the process?

If so you can use very thin plastic or metal sheet cut roughly to shape & pushed into the surface of the clay sculpture. It'll leave a seam line but there would be in the mould anyway.
Another way would be to support your sculpture securely & build the partition out of anything suitable up close (very close) to the surface of your sculpture leaving a tiny gap & then paint over the gap with silicone with thixotropic additive mixed in to thicken it like caulking, that's assuming your using silicone of course.

My last sculpture was oil clay & I used the last suggestion above with success.

HTH

Another way would be to support your sculpture securely & build the partition out of anything suitable up close (very close) to the surface of your sculpture leaving a tiny gap & then paint over the gap with silicone with thixotropic additive mixed in to thicken it like caulking, that's assuming your using silicone of course.
HTH