Page 1 of 6 123456 LastLast
Subscribe
    From
    Los Angeles
    Jan 21, 2017, 10:11 PM - Another Ding-Dang PKD #1

I've had this on the back-burner for a bit, but finally decided to jump in and start getting my hands dirty. I built a PFC version of Deckard's gun last year out of a CAW MULE Charter Arms replica and some Tomenosuke bits. Turned out pretty cool! But the thirst remained for a live-fire.

So I got these:

And started thinking about what my build would look like. I want the whole thing to be blued. With grips from smoked acrylic. This was an early design I toyed with.

I think in the end I will go for a more traditional shape & checkering pattern, but I love the smoked acrylic as an alternative to the amber.

But then I stalled out! Milling into the Steyr was just so intimidating... until today!

Not bad for a few hours work! I still need to mill out the clearance for the cylinder, but for a total noob when it comes to this kind of stuff I think I did alright.

I used carbide end-mills, and took shallow cuts. Honestly, I was expecting total abject disaster because that's usually how these things go for me, so I'm calling this a victory for now

I'll be out of town all next week, but hopefully when I come back I'll finish this up and then try to build some momentum back up on this project!
  2. Coldhands RPF Premium Member Sundowner's Avatar
    From
    Midwest
    Jan 21, 2017, 10:30 PM - Re: Another Ding-Dang PKD #2

I'd like to see how the smoked grips turn out!
    From
    Florida
    Jan 21, 2017, 11:12 PM - Re: Another Ding-Dang PKD #3

"Gosh... You've really got some nice toys here."
    -Roy Batty
    From
    Los Angeles
    Jan 22, 2017, 12:04 AM - Re: Another Ding-Dang PKD #4

Panaflex said: View Post
    "Gosh... You've really got some nice toys here."
    -Roy Batty
    My friends are my toys. I make them.
  5. RPF Premium Member juajn7fernandez's Avatar
    Jan 22, 2017, 12:11 AM - Re: Another Ding-Dang PKD #5