Question for studio scale X-wing experts.

Mustangkevin

So this may have been answered but I am about to bite the bullet and buy a studio scale X-Wing and I am between an original Captain Cardboard kit or the Galactic Resin kit. I know the Captain Cardboard is molded off an original pyro and the Galactic Resin is based off the Maxi Brute. Other then that what are the differences? Just having a hard time deciding and thought I would ask for some input. Thanks in advance!

The captain cardboard kit is not molded from a pyro. The fuselage nose area is thinner in proportion to what an x-wing should be.

I don't know much about the galactic resin version. It seems to have a fuller forward fuselage. The galactic resin y-wing isn't very accurate in the details, but I don't know about the x.

While I am NOT an expert on x-wings, or casting/recasting parts, I'll tell you what I know about the GR x-wing.

I have heard a couple of people acuse GR of being a recast, but I dont believe it is.

For reference, I currently own:
1)a built Salzo V3.1
2) an Icons x-wing
3) 2 Captain Carboard x-wing kits, one of which I am building now. One is a new casting from Scott, the other several years old.
4) an unbuilt Salzo V4

A year or two ago, I received the Icons x-wing in horrible shape. Pretty beat up, as well as the typical wing warpage. I contacted Ray Perez of GR, and asked him if he would cast a complete set of s-foils for me. I wanted everything, essentially, but the laser cannons, and the fuselage to use to restore the Icons ship. Ray made the parts, and I restored my x-wing, and it now is a nice piece in my collection.

Since then, I have had the opportunity to aquire several other x-wings, mentioned above.