My SS TIE Fighter

swgeek

Master Member
RPF PREMIUM MEMBER
So I've been working on and off on my Tie Fighter for about 6 years now. Most of that time has been research and kit collecting. Last year I finally started work on construction of the master patterns. I plan to mold the whole thing so that down the road I can make an Interceptor and a X-1 to go along with my standard TIE. Also, this will be a New Hope Version. At least that's the idea, there seems to be a lot more reference for the later TIEs, so if you see anything wrong let me know.

The first thing I started was the wing pylons. I started with the smaller ones, closest to the wings. it wasn't until I finished the patterns that I realized the smaller ones were probably a cut down version of the larger ones (the ones touching the hull).
I started with a block of Renshape. Renshape, for those who don't know, is a super dense foam. It is or was a standard building material in the F/X business.
20140807_111635.jpg

After I finished the master pattern I molded the master and cast up my first real part of my TIE Fighter. The two halves are the master and the one assembled piece is the cast parts glued together.

20150128_220909 (1).jpg

My next part to tackle was the larger wing pylons. I basically used the same technique on the larger pylons.

20150128_104804 (1).jpg

I didn't really plan out my construction, so I kind of jumped around from section to section. Next on the list was the tail end/ rear pylon cover. I started with a big block of urethane resin, chucked it up in the lathe and started shaping it down. My first pass was to get the outside diameter correct.

20150127_121107.jpg

Next was to get the inside diameter correct.
20150127_124243.jpg

After I was happy with the ID and the OD I shaped the outer and inner walls.

20150127_132144.jpg