MPC/ERTL Millenium Falcon Resurection

kookoogr

Hi, my name is Kostas and i live in Greece. The last month and a half i started scale modeling again and my goal is to finish some old scale models (among a couple of other i bought recently) i started when i was a kid. Among those scale models is an MPC/ERTL circa 1989 Millennium Falcon that i started building in the early/mid 90's and never finished it, actually the build was complete but never painted the whole ship. So after searching the Internet i found this forum and i am gathering info/materials for the build/upgrade, also note that i am still a beginner at scale modeling but i think i will master some modeling techniques along the way. The ship was in a disregarded condition gathering dust at my parents' house and with bits falling off (luckily my mother didn't throw anything).

The first thing to do was to completely dismantle the ship after a good wash and it was easy enough since many parts had started to fall off, the majority of the parts were removed easily with a couple of precision knives i have while some required the use of a dremmel and a precision saw. At the pictures below you will see the status of the model as well as some damaged parts over the course of years and questions i have for the build. So let the ''carnage'' begin...

The Falcon after dismantling it

20161227_164530.jpg 20161227_164539.jpg 20161227_164803.jpg

1. You can see that the hinges from these hatches broke, how can i repair them, if possible
20161224_202814.jpg

2. How would you suggest to unglue the rotating base of the radar, i tried using a small drill but the plastic was getting stressed and i didn't want to damage anything, the reason to remove this is to remove the paint from the radar base and maybe upgrade it. If things come to worse i will just leave it as is since i can scratch the paint easy with a dull modelling knife
20161227_164830.jpg 20161227_164839.jpg