Want to make a model. Need advice

Customrelic

Hi all,
since i was a child i always liked models. A local store had the ones where you glue all the pieces together and painted it. I made an destroyed many. Fast foward 20+ years and i find myself drawn to them again. But this time, there are sites like this one with amazing models and builders. Although i am an acomplished artist, prop builder whatever, i dont know the first thing about models now. My goal is to build a star wars AT AT from scratch. I figured i could use thin wood, draw and cut out the pieces and make it. Id like to make it a fairly decent size, say 16" by 24" long. I guess my questions are can a model like this be made from wood (besides a boat)? is there anything else i should consider? I do have the ability to sculpt, mold, cast, airbrush etc. i know how serious you guys are in this part of the RPF so please be gentle. Thanksnfor any help/advice

I'd prefer building it with either styrene or ABS or acrylic.

Balsa wood will make the painting stages much harder to deal with and any techniques you would use for construction with wood sheets you can use with styrene sheets

Since you mentioned being able to make molds etc, you could build masters for parts that get re-used and cast them in resin. Like the legs and feet for example. You would only need to make on master and then cast the parts four times

I'd prefer building it with either styrene or ABS or acrylic.

Balsa wood will make the painting stages much harder to deal with and any techniques you would use for construction with wood sheets you can use with styrene sheets

Since you mentioned being able to make molds etc, you could build masters for parts that get re-used and cast them in resin. Like the legs and feet for example. You would only need to make on master and then cast the parts four times