Budget Builds -Thermal Detonator, Leia's Blaster, Fett's ESB & ROTJ Blasters (<$40)

Sillof

Now a days I spend most of my time sculpting doing lines like these.
c-serial-group-good.jpg
c-fant-group-good.jpg
c-west-group-good.jpg

But prop making is my first love. I started doing it back in 92 when all I had was a handful of books and no internet. My father was a tool and die machinist and it was a hobby that brought us together. I stay pretty busy with the commissioned sculpting but every now and then I make some props. These are not really new some are a pretty old but I thought I would post them.

I do occasionally take some of my commission money and buy the real parts to make authentic replicas. But I still enjoy the scratch & budgets build for fun. I love the challenge and I feel like it keeps my skills up for when I work as a production designer on films.

THERMAL DETONATOR
Nothing too original here. I was actually at Disney at the first Star Wars weekend when they sold this. I bought a few immediately with the same idea everyone else has had. I painted it with a base of silver, misted a gunmetal, sponged on rust and brown, did a black wash and then used 3 different rub n buff colors. I masked off the electronics so it still works. Of course the hot potato game was under $10.
DETONATOR.jpg

LEIA'S ANH BLASTER
Again nothing to special here. Except that the whole thing cost me lest than $10. If is a squirt gun filled with plaster for weight, a various pvc pipes, some plexiglass, an old xacto tip, and an old phone cord. I have since bought the correct model plane engine for a few dollars and plan to swap them out.
LEIA-blaster.jpg

Attachments

• DETONATOR.jpg
    DETONATOR.jpg
    169 KB · Views: 237
  • LEIA-blaster.jpg
    LEIA-blaster.jpg
    402.9 KB · Views: 202
Last edited:
Re: Budget Builds -Thermal Detonator, Leia's Blaster, Fett's ESB & ROTJ Blasters (<$

Cool stuff. Where at the Fett blasters?