Captain America Civil War/AoU Build

Tachyon

Hi guys!

Figured it was about time I made a post :) I've been rocking my TFA Cap suit for a while now and it's time to upgrade it. I've been following brutuswayne's build threads for a while now and while I'm not quite at the patterning stage, I've bought some samples and other bits and pieces. I've decided to get a bunch of cordura samples to see how it feels. I've never worked with cordura before so I'm hoping it's at least a little better than the full leather in the suit I've got at the moment. It gets pretty hot in the Queensland summer.

0208062670227304_3848444953946809751_n_zps3rcthekb.jpg

While I've been waiting for the samples to arrive, I managed to fluke a set of Magnum Mach I's in my size on eBay. I'm not going for 100% Civil War accuracy, more a AoU/CW hybrid suit, so these boots will work perfectly under the boot covers. I also picked up a CATTOYS Civil War helmet to see if a cheapy helmet can be modified to be better. At $100AU, I won't get heartbroken if it dosen't work out. It arrived today, hence me thinking to start a thread :)

Does anyone know what the CATTOYS helmets are made of? The video on the sales page said silicone, but it does not look or feel like silicone. It has flex, but not as much as my rubber/urethane TFA helmet. I think it could be some type of vinyl or flexible urethane, but I really have no idea. It didn't sand like urethane when I took a lump off the inside, the rubbings kinda felt like very thick pencil eraser rubbings, if that makes sense. There are quite a few defects that need removing/repair/modifying and the whole helmet will need a repaint at the end.

th_RPF%20Pics-1_zpsr5ylxaiy.jpg
th_RPF%20Pics-4_zpsyf19gtlj.jpg
th_RPF%20Pics-3_zpsfuoqwulf.jpg

As you can see in the pics, there is a list of things I want to do to the helmet;

- Remove the seamline above the 'A'
- Remove the 'A' and make a larger 'A' in thin ABS