Pedro's ANH DL-44 - Denix + Todd's + Scratch

Pedro

Sr Member
RPF PREMIUM MEMBER
Howdy folks. I thought I'd post a thread about a project I've been working on for a few months, one which has been done to death but still gets me pumped every time I see one. :) I'm building a Han Solo DL-44 (hero version) from ANH, using a Denix Mauser base (with wood grips), some excellent parts from Todd's costumes, and a Hensoldt replica scratchbuilt/converted from a cheapo scope. I've been working on this for a while so this is not exactly in chronological order.

I actually started on the scope first. After scouring the web and eBay for something affordable that resembles Han's scope I pretty much gave up and am building it from scratch, with a bell scavenged from a pretty cheap scope I picked up on eBay. Originally I sawed off one of the bells, planning on using what was left along with a scratch built mount, but the innards (don't know the correct term) were right up against the remaining tube and I couldn't figure out how to remove them. I gradually decided I needed an all metal mount anyway so decided to use a 7/8" aluminum tube so I could use Todd's scope mount. I picked up the tube on Amazon for a couple bucks and used the removable rear bell from the other scope. It was a 1" tube so I had to figure out how to reduce it to meet the 7/8" aluminum. I cut short slice from the 1" tube and used it as a spacer, filling the steps with Bondo and sanding smooth.

Original scope bell and spacer
hensoldt-1.JPG hensoldt-2.JPG hensoldt-3.JPG

I'm pretty pleased, it matches the shape of the Hensoldt well though the taper where it meets the tube isn't 100% perfect. Unfortunately since the filler is Bondo I won't be able to blue the scope easily, so I guess it will be paint. I also used a tubing cutter to scribe a line near the tip to represent the brass parts. I haven't sorted out a front lense yet, if anyone knows where to get a cheap lense I'm open to ideas!