The wasp Costume ??

LH Art

Hi all

I have been following the forum for years, but this will be my first post.
I want to make the wasp costume that are briefly seen at the end scene in Antman. I am still researching and I will try and post about my Progress. For now am trying to decide on materials and I am having a really hard time deciding which direction to take, so this is where I was hoping for some thoughts from some of all the very talented people on this forum.

fHP2xbu.jpg

I originally thought leather, but I am not very experienced in working with leather and now I am having doubts that it is possible to make the costume so tight fitting using leather, wouldn't it be horrible to Wear? If it is leather what type?
i am pretty certain that the gold parts aer leather, since they look shaped and stamped, but i guess you would need to use veg. tan lether to make that effect? everybody I have asked keep telling me veg. tan lether is way to stiff for any type of garment?
The blue parts, could it be a some type of heavy spandex? neoprene? or would leather still be the best option?
I am completely stuck trying to decide what mateirals to buy, any knowledge or ideas anyone of you might have would be greatly appreciated.

LH

It's almost certainly all screen printed fabric like all the other marvel costumes and I'd imagine shaped foam for the chest are to keep its shape.
Your best bet unless you can afford to have all the fabric custom is to look for fabric with a similar pattern (preferably in a jumbo spandex) to sew it with. You can add a breast plate underneath the fabric if you want to or just let the spandex shape over your own.

The helmet I'd recommend getting someone like DO3D to make and get it printed.
Same for parts of the wings (circle section) the use some thin plastic to make the wings and use a sharp knife to cut detail into it.

Hope this helps

Sent From The Batcave