Kylo Ren build, extreme beginner!

JayOneSeven

I finally got started on my Kylo Ren build after what feels like months of research. Truth is, I'm a full time undergrad and I work full time, so now that summer is out I can finally get going on this!
Sadly, my first post is one with problems and questions.
I chose a fantastic material for my sleeves, however I tried to cut corners. I should note that I have really never sewed in my life. I bought a sewing machine, played around with it some, and now I'm off and running, hitting every hurdle so far.
I chose this fabric:
IMG_0835.JPG
It has a rubbery texture that is elastic also to complete the form-fitting feel the sleeves have. I then began to pleat them by just pinning and pressing. I like the fact that the costume has imperfect pleats. Some are smaller than others, it's not uniform. It's not that I was trying specifically to achieve this, merely a result of my lack of ability in all things cloth!
IMG_0837.JPGIMG_0838.JPG
While it looked perfect, the minute I sewed it, it unraveled, predictably. I had a pretty good fit for the sleeve, but when I tried to put my arm through it just fell like spaghetti, my pleats lost, or at least temporarily however, due to them being sewn at the seam of the sleeve.
IMG_0842.JPG
So not to be completely dissuaded by this I began trying to salvage what I had left. I bought some of the double sided iron-on adhesive and began placing it under each pleat. I used a poster tube to keep the shape of the sleeve while ironing these on. I eventually came out with something that looked a little more correct, however the glue does not seem to hold very well as I can't get the iron quite hot enough to melt it without damaging the fabric also.
IMG_0844.JPG