First DIY Project, Mace Windu's lightsaber

Orionfield

Hi everyone, I am new here, obviously, and I am looking for a little help a where to get started with a project. I have been a model builder for over 15 years, and want to get into making props. My girlfriend and I are both very nerdy, and we wanted to try and build a Mace Windu lightsaber together to decorate our newly completed office. I was wondering if anyone who has experience building lightsabers has made one and can get us started in the right direction.

I can probably help you with the wiring aspect of things, but making a saber hilt of that design is going to be a decent amount of work.

A good place to start is on the custom saber shop.

www.thecustomsabershop.com

They have a program where you can build sabers using various combinations of their parts to see if it looks the way you want it to.

Sent from my Nexus 6P using Tapatalk

Check out the "show your custom lightsabers thread" there's quite a lot info there and you could always PM a member for info on it and techniques good luck!

Sent from my LG-D850 using Tapatalk

I suppose it would depend on how much accuracy matters to you. If you want an ultra-accurate saber, machining is the way to go. It's possible to draw up plans and have a machine shop make it for you. The poorman's approach would be 3d printing, but that would require much more cleanup afterwards to make it truly resemble Mace Windu's saber. A 3rd route would be piecing something together from hardware store parts. Depending on how creative/handy you are, it's possible to make a fairly accurate saber in this fashion. I hope that helps!

My advice is if it is your first time start with a simpler saber! Mace's is one of the more complex ones there is. Unless you mean his TPM version...

I bought one a while back that was pretty damaged and needs work to fix it up. But, if you're interested in putting the work in, drop me a line

Dan