Easter Island Movie Statue Prop

yaris

Sr Member
Okay I kind of mislead you with the title, but in my defence, Easter Island has some seriously cool monolithic statues and there was a reference in Night at the Museum and Rapa Nui, so I wanted a break from other prop stuff and thought this would be fun.

I don't actually have any idea what I'm doing, but with a pep file for $9 and some clay that I've never used before, I'm really enjoying this ;)

Attachments

• IMG_0331.JPG
    IMG_0331.JPG
    2.9 MB · Views: 82
  • IMG_0332.JPG
    IMG_0332.JPG
    3.3 MB · Views: 85
  • IMG_0347.JPG
    IMG_0347.JPG
    1.7 MB · Views: 64
  • IMG_0354.JPG
    IMG_0354.JPG
    2.4 MB · Views: 85
  • IMG_0355.JPG
    IMG_0355.JPG
    1.9 MB · Views: 67
  • IMG_0356.JPG
    IMG_0356.JPG
    1.9 MB · Views: 74
Last edited:
After some advice form other builders and as the clay isn't really sticking that well to the resin over card stock, I've switched to mortar as an alternative, so I'll see how it dries....

Attachments

• IMG_0361.JPG
    IMG_0361.JPG
    3.1 MB · Views: 67
  • IMG_0362.JPG
    IMG_0362.JPG
    2.8 MB · Views: 93
okay, mortar doesn't work and while the clay could be picked off, it didn't fall off like the mortar....so I think I'll rough up the card stock resin surface and use the clay again.

Attachments

• IMG_0376.JPG
    IMG_0376.JPG
    2.2 MB · Views: 61
  • IMG_0354.JPG
    IMG_0354.JPG
    1.7 MB · Views: 72
How to rough up the resin coated card stock.....???

I needed a cheap grit paint something, so I had some white house paint and table salt, so I mixed it up and painted it on.

The surface now feels more gritty, so I'm hoping the clay will stick better.

Attachments

• IMG_0380.JPG
    IMG_0380.JPG
    1.8 MB · Views: 74
I've used a mixture of white glue, latex/acrylic paint, and sand to add texture to miniature buildings. I'd probably go that way if it were me. The thing that would worry me more about salt is that it dissolves when wet.

-Rog